Alice Mae: An Angel Tale

Some of you know that I’ve had the opportunity to write for a mommy blog (Baby Loving Mama) and recently I reviewed an online source for fully customizable children’s books. None of the prewritten stories made sense for my little ones but the great thing about Trueberry Books is the fact that I could write my OWN story. (See Baby Loving Mama for the review and a chance to win your own Trueberry Book for a limited time only.)

Trueberry books’ beautiful little fairy was the perfect inspiration for the story I wrote (with the helpful editing eyes of my mom) about my little angel baby Alice Mae. I thought I’d share it with you!

I’m hoping it will help us talk about the babies with Nora now and as she gets older. Lately she’s been playing pretend and one of her pretend “friends” has been named Alice. It makes me smile.

All illustrations are ©Leyla Akdogan and Trueberry Books. All text is ©Janelle Wourms. Please respect these copyrights but feel free to share this post with your friends or others who have lost a child. Maybe this is a way that you could remember your little one as well?

(click on images to see them larger)

Alice Mae: An Angel Tale
By Janelle Wourms
Illustrated by Leyla Akdogan via Trueberry Books

In Heaven lives an angel.
Her name is Alice Mae.
Her family loves her oh so much
but watched her fly away.

When God made little Alice,
He knew she’d never run.
Now she’s flying in the warmth
of the evening’s setting sun.

He took her broken back and legs
and gave her wings instead.
She paints the sky with sunsets
while you rest your weary head.

She helps Heaven’s little children
send encouragement below,
back to saddened loves ones
who miss their babies so.

Alice Mae loves to teach
new angels how to fly.
She shows them how
to spread their wings
with a twinkle in her eye.

She paints the skies at sunset
and makes bubbles on the beach.
She flies above the water
leaving clouds of orange and peach.

When Alice misses loved ones
she sends joy from up above.
Butterflies, birds and dragonflies
help Alice show her love.

Playing hide and seek all day
is always so much fun.
Alexis counted up to ten,
now Elliot better run!

Alice Mae loves to play,
especially pretend.
“Won’t you come and join us now?
Remember, bring a friend!”

What fun to run in the grass
or playing in the sand.
Alice, Alexis and Elliot
always hand in hand.

Looking over her sister
at the end of every day.
Alice waits for bedtime stories
and joins us when we pray.

Happily ever after
is in Heaven up above,
forever spreading joy
and sharing God’s true love.

6 thoughts on “Alice Mae: An Angel Tale

  1. I came across this page while curiously looking up Leyla Akdogan! I used to babysit her and her brother just a “few” years ago and had been told of her amazing art.
    While that connection may seem a bit innocuous by itself … The connection to “Nora” is more than interesting.
    You see, I have been struggling to conceive for over 7 years now. And I have been following another blogger Lindsey Henke’s site “Stillborn and Still Breathing”. I know her through her husband and I have been so touched by her ability to articulate what she and her husband went through with the passing of their first child… Nora!
    Lindsey was just finishing graduate school to be a counselor/therapist when I was I introduced to her.
    She has had to work through her grief both as a professional and as the subject.
    If you read her first postings, be sure to have a box of tissues… and take comfort they now are parents to one very special little sister.

    • Oh my goodness. It is indeed a small world. I know Lindsey as well. I had reached out to her to ask about Faith’s Lodge (I forget now how we crossed paths in the first place). We found out that we had the Nora connection as well. Later we had a tree planting for our kiddos on the same day. We met at the Stillbirth Summit and both work for/through Star Legacy Foundation. I’ve supported her Pregnancy After Loss work and submitted writing to her site (I just had a new baby girl). How crazy. Is Leyla here in Minnesota then? I’d love for her to see the book and how it’s touched our life.

Leave a Reply

