2012: Capture Your Grief: Day 7


Day 7. What To Say
 We all talk about the bad things people say to us but we rarely focus on the good that people say to us. Share a tip for those who don’t have any idea on what to say. Write it down – photograph it.

My thoughts: Please speak their names. Please remember them. Please acknowledge them as part of our family. I have six children. Their time with us doesn’t make them any more or less of a child. Please don’t ever imply that being grateful for the child I do have makes my love/loss of them any easier. Please don’t imply that by having more, their memory will be replaced. Please know that your silence is often painful (it’s ok to say, “I don’t have words” “I don’t know what to say but I’m thinking of you today”). A hug can mean the world. I cry. Every day. Not talking about them doesn’t prevent that. If I don’t want to talk about them – I’ll tell you.

Leave a Reply

