Soon

Mother’s Day – 2012

Found myself sobbing through this song at church this morning. This song first made me cry several years ago when my cousin’s wife was nearing the end of her fight with cancer. I knew it would be “soon” for her and since that time it’s been a hard song for me to listen to. The thought of her being separated from her husband and children was unbearable for me. The question “why?” constantly in my head.

Today I found myself thinking different thoughts rotating around the same “why?”… why can’t I go to them? Why were they taken? But more so – why can’t I go to them? Will it be soon? In the reality of eternity – my timeline, no matter how long, really should feel like “soon”. I wouldn’t wish away my time here with my amazing husband and the one child that God’s blessed me with here on earth. Never. I would never wish to leave them instead. But the yearning in my heart for Heaven isn’t changing. The lyrics of this song speak of seeing Jesus – and although my heart longs for that day – the lyrics also remind me of the moment that I will finally be able to see my children as well. “I will be with the One I love, With unveiled face I’ll see Him” … yes, Jesus, but also them. My “soul will be satisfied” instead of constantly looking to that day and hoping.

Never in my life have I looked at death as comfort until now.

So on mother’s day, a day I knew would be hard, I try to find thanks for the children He’s given even if He’s taken them back to His own arms too soon. I try to focus on the “soon” in my future no matter how long that may be. I try to be the best Mom I can be to the gift He’s given me to raise here and now.

Soon and very soon
My King is coming
Robed in righteousness
And crowned with love
When I see Him
I shall be made like Him
Soon and very soon

Soon and very soon
I’ll be going To the place
He has prepared for me
There my sin erased
My shame forgotten
Soon and very soon

I will be with the One I love
With unveiled face I’ll see Him
There my soul will be satisfied
Soon and very soon

Soon and very soon
See the procession
The angels and the elders
‘Round the throne At His feet I
‘ll lay my crowns My worship
Soon and very soon

Though I have not seen Him
My heart knows Him well
Jesus Christ the Lamb
The Lord of heaven

Leave a Reply

