Changes Every Day : Contractions Begin

Many friends and family are aware that I had some contractions yesterday. At almost 17 weeks this is not something I expected. I’d been sick on Tuesday and although I did my best to keep food and fluids going, I just felt nauseated all morning. By the time the evening came around I was hungrier than I’ve ever been it seemed. I would eat and within 15 minutes I’d be starving again. I did my best to catch up on calories and rehydrate but I’m wondering if it had some effect on yesterday anyway. Nora was with friends both Tuesday and Wednesday (thank you!) so I could rest and yet as I left the house at 3pm to get her and head in for our flu shots, the contractions started. I called ahead and asked that the clinic have a wheel chair waiting for me but after 5 minutes of waiting and still no chair, I headed up to both of our appointments late. Taking it slow with a 2 year old is a difficult task! That said, Nora did great getting her flu shot and I was able to get a recommendation from the nurse practitioner. I was told to go home, rest and rehydrate as much as possible.

I was able to mostly rest again today. Nora had lots of new Christmas toys to keep her busy. I was swamped with work anyway so I spent most of the day on my laptop doing ad campaigns and product packaging.

That said I’ve had a few contractions again tonight. Now it’s nothing painful – just a tightness that I haven’t had before now. I don’t recall when Braxton Hicks are considered normal but considering nothing about this pregnancy is normal it still causes some alarm in my little brain.

We’d appreciate some prayers for things to continue to be ok as this evolves. I’m sure it will be the first of many specific requests from my direction and we thank you in advance for your support.

2 thoughts on “Changes Every Day : Contractions Begin

Leave a Reply

